There are a few things that cause conflicts, which are listed later. Resolving
Resolving the conflicts is quite straightforward. When a conflict is shown, you can tap on the change in the history to view the details about the change, and why the change is in conflict. The message at the bottom of the popup will say what the problem is.
EasyBooks is designed to reject changes that would cause problems, so even when you see conflicts, it just means the changes were ignored. The data in the device is safe, although you
It is important to deal with the conflicts. As an example, assume the conflict is that an account was created on two devices with the same category and name. At the server, these are two different accounts, and each account has a unique identity which all related information refers to. Only one of the accounts will exist on each device, and all changes that affect the other will not be made on it. Just ignoring the conflict and adding transactions, statements and so on will likely cause more conflicts, as the entries will be added to one account or the other, depending on which one is present in the device.
To resolve the conflict, you simply upload a new snapshot. See How to... (Online Sync). This can be done from any of the devices, and once done, all outstanding changes other devices are discarded, and all devices are re-synchronised to the snapshot. In the example of adding the same account in two places, you may have made more changes linked to that account, such as adding transactions. You could pick the device that you had made the most changes, and use this to upload the snapshot.
When complete, your other devices will need to sync before you can make any changes in them. They will then download the new snapshot and continue syncing.
The conflicts can be avoided very easily when you know what causes them.
Deleting records on one device, then making changes to them on another before they have time to sync can cause these "does not exist" conflicts. These are not serious, because the record will be deleted on all devices when they sync, but they are a good warning that you made changes that were discarded.
This is caused by deleting an account on one device and...
This is caused by deleting an income account on one device and saving a new rate card or product linked to it on another.
This is caused by deleting an asset account (e.g. stock) on one device and saving a stock product linked to it on another.
This is caused by deleting an expense account (e.g. cost of sales) on one device and saving a stock product linked to it on another.
This is caused by deleting a VAT account on one device and...
This is caused by deleting a transaction on one device and...
This is caused by deleting an estimate on one device and...
This is caused by deleting a statement on one device and adding a transaction to it on another.
This is caused by deleting the combination of worker and customer from one device and...
This is caused by deleting an hours entry on one device and saving it on another.
This is caused by deleting a rate card for worker-customer combination on one device and saving it on another.
This is caused by deleting a worker on one device and saving a new rate card for the worker on another.
This is caused by deleting a product on one device and saving a transaction that references it on another.
The following tips will help to avoid a conflict from happening.