Support

Contents

Using the Settings Screen

This screen is displayed by tapping Settings in the EasyBooks menu. The screen contains the following sections:

This enables you to delete or access the settings of the business currently selected in the Businesses screen. Tapping the business displays the Business Settings screen.

App Settings

 

Set to On if you want to be able to use EasyBooks only after entering a 4-digit passcode. You may want to use this feature if you lend your device to another person and do not want that person to be able to use EasyBooks. The EasyBooks passcode does not affect the lock settings of the device you are using.

When you choose On, you are prompted to specify a passcode. You will be prompted to enter the passcode each time you choose to use EasyBooks.

Be careful not to forget the passcode! If you, you will need to remove the reinstall EasyBooks, then restore your data from backup. Passcode Lock is switched off when you reinstall EasyBooks.

Show Inactive Items

If this is set to No, any accounts, stock items or services set to inactive in their settings are not displayed in EasyBooks. However, transactions associated with inactive items remain displayed in the appropriate screens. This setting is useful if you want to "declutter" screens without deleting information.

You can display inactive items by setting Show Inactive Items to Yes.

For details of how to set an item to active/inactive, please refer to:

Show Help 

Setting this to No removes the ? button shown near the top-right corner of each screen. Set to Yes if you want the Help button to be displayed.

Amount Entry

This determines whether the Amount option shown in many screens defaults to including or excluding VAT.

If you use the Automatic setting, EasyBooks determines for itself whether the default should be including or excluding VAT based on the screen you are using. For example, if you are entering an expense from a petty cash account, the default is including VAT, since the amount presented on any receipt is likely to show only the including-VAT value of the transaction.

Backup Reminders 

EasyBooks will remind you to make a backup of your business data via the Notification area. If you have made no changes to the business data, there is no need to backup and no notification is displayed. As soon as you make a change, you will be reminded to backup a while later:

  • Never - Turn off these reminders.
  • Weekly - You will be reminded to backup about a week after making a change to the data. This is the default.
  • Monthly - You will be reminded to backup about a month after making a change. You may want to use this option if you make changes very rarely and can quickly and easily re-enter them if you should need to.

Note: This only applies to businesses that are not registered in the Online Sync service. The service keeps your data backed up every time you make a change.

Tools

Backup

Tapping Backup displays the Backup screen, which you can use to back up business data you have entered into EasyBooks. You should store the backup file somewhere other than the device so that you can restore the data to another device if you need to.

Information

This provides useful information about EasyBooks.

Version

This displays the version number of EasyBooks you are using.

Review on the App Store

Tap to leave a review of EasyBooks in the App Store.

Number of Businesses

This shows the total number of businesses you have added to EasyBooks, as set up in the Businesses screen.

Number of Transactions

This shows the total number of transactions you have added to EasyBooks that transfer money between accounts. For example, a transfer (payment) from a customer to your bank account. EasyBooks comes with space for a maximum of 60 Transactions, but you can extend this by purchasing the Unlimited Transactions add-on.